top of page


The Delta Sigma Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was chartered on September 16, 1952, in Trenton, New Jersey, by 11 trailblazing charter members: Norma Galiber Bingham, Gloria Edmonds Carter, Ernestine Dobbins, Louise Overton Granger, Audrey Lee Harvey, Klyda Grace Mahoney, Dorothy Vaughn Palmer, Lennie-Marie Pickens, Elizabeth Smith Taylor, Ellen Logan Williams, and Edna Wyn.


The Trenton Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.  serves the needs of the Trenton, Ewing, Hamilton, Princeton, East Windsor and West Windsor, Lawrence, Pennington, Plainsboro and Hopewell, New Jersey.


Our membership includes over 100 women of diverse backgrounds who work throughout the state of New Jersey in private and public entities. We are educators, administrators, business executives, politicians, journalist, attorneys, judges, doctors, etc. In addition to being active in the sorority, our members are active in national and local organizations such as the NAACP, United Negro College Fund, PTA, Urban League, National Council of Negro Women, Christian Ministries and more. Our members strive to truly exemplifying positive female role model for the next generation.


Over the years we have raised thousands of dollars by to fund our scholarship program, which provides merit scholarships and book awards for deserving students. Other successful programs sponsored by Trenton Alumnae Chapter include the Dr. Betty Shabazz Delta Academy, Delta GEMS; Red Hat Affair, Reading Adventures, and our Annual International Day of Service whose main focus is on the prevention and education of HIV/AIDS.


For its efforts the chapter has received numerous honors and commendations from New Jersey's governors, congressmen, mayors and other prominent figures in the community for its steadfast commitment to service.

bottom of page